First Yoga Class!

yoga east

Today I went to my first ever yoga class! I’ve been doing home practice for over a year, so I thought it was time to transition from YouTube videos to seeing a live instructor! I did some research online for local yoga studios. I choose Yoga East in Greer based on their scheduling and pricing. They were cheaper than some other places I had looked into, and they offer lots of evening and weekend classes that will fit into my schedule. I signed up for the beginner’s yoga class at 6:00pm.

I was immediately impressed with how nice the facility was. It looks to be fairly new, it was VERY clean, and it smelled amazing. I knew right off the bat I would be able to relax and enjoy myself. The instructor, who introduced herself as Karen, was extremely welcoming. She had me fill out a “new student” form, then personally took me to the studio room and showed me where everything was. You do not have to bring your own mat, and you do not have to “rent” a mat like some yoga studios. “You can bring everything, or nothing!” she said. They had comfortable mats, yoga blocks, bolsters, and blankets for everyone. Karen recommended I get 2 blocks, a bolster, and a blanket. I took her advice and set up my mat on the floor.

You can bring everything, or nothing!

There were only 2 other students in the class, which made it very personal and spacious. Karen began by asking if anyone had any injuries or pulled muscles that she needed to know about. We started on our backs and transitioned into other poses. There was soft, soothing music playing on a speaker in the back of the room. We were reminded often to check our breath and to relax tense muscles. Karen’s voice was soothing, and she paid attention to us without standing over our shoulders the whole time.

During Shavasana (the pose at the end of a yoga session where you lay flat on your back in total relaxation), Karen told us to use whatever we needed to get comfortable, and she even offered to cover us up with our blanket.

After the session we were invited to get hot tea and/or water. Karen struck up a conversation with me and we ended up chatting until everyone else had left. I was impressed with everything about the studio and the experience. I will definitely be going back for more sessions and trying new classes out. Namaste!

Check out their website by clicking here.

About JoyfuLovely

Hello! I'm trying this blogging thing out for a while. Hope you find something encouraging, helpful, entertaining, or a mix of all three!
This entry was posted in First Yoga Class!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

