DIY Initial Ornaments

As soon as I put up my Christmas tree this year, I noticed our lack of personalized ornaments. I was on a mission to create something beautiful. My original idea was to paint some of those rustic wood circles, but the local Walmart was in short supply. So I ventured outside of Pinterest and put my creative mind to work. I decided on these wooden letters. I got a few of them to give as gifts if the project turned out like I planned. Here are all of the materials I used, but of course you can use whatever you like to personalize your ornament.

Processed with VSCO

Don’t forget to get some of those little eye hook screws so you can hang from your tree! I got a pack of 10 for less than $2.

For some of my letters, I printed off some complicated sheet music (that’s what I searched for in Google images). I traced the letters on the sheet, then glued them using Elmer’s Glue. Next, I mixed a little water with some glue on a paper plate and painted that mixture on top of the paper to give it an extra seal. (This is a hack for making copy cat Modge Podge–so much cheaper!)

20151122_131330 - Edited.jpg

My hubby suggested burning the edges to make it look more rustic. This was somewhat a painstaking process, because the wood didn’t burn very fast and my finger got sore from holding the ‘trigger’ on the lighter. (I know, first world problems, right?) I was extremely happy with the ending result, so it was worth the pain.

2015-11-23 06.14.54 1 - Edited

For some of the letters I burned the edges first, then roughly painted the inside white. I added song lyrics with sharpie and a gold marker. I was really pleased with how both designs turned out. I finished off by screwing in the eye hook and tying a loop with some twine.

20151122_132855 - Edited

Here are some close ups:

One more with my ornament hanging on the tree.

20151122_133058

Now I feel our tree has a personal touch. I can’t wait to add more homemade ornaments! Merry Christmas!

 

About JoyfuLovely

Hello! I'm trying this blogging thing out for a while. Hope you find something encouraging, helpful, entertaining, or a mix of all three!
This entry was posted in DIY Projects, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DIY Initial Ornaments

  1. Anna Koon says:

    Thanks for the tutorial! They turned out great! Very creative.

    Like

Leave a Reply

